Cauliflower Pizza Bites

I’m not the biggest vegie eater. Well, no, I’m more of a vegie eater than a salad eater, but I’ve never liked a lot of different types of vegies. I try to fix this, by constantly challenging myself to try vegies I’m not the biggest fan of over and over again until one day I say “Hang on a second, I really like this!”.

When I found this recipe, it was definitely another opportunity to incorporate more vegies I don’t normally eat into my diet… Namely, the cauliflower…

I’ve never been a fan, Rex, however, LOVES the stuff! Mind you, he loves every kind of vegetable you can imagine, I’ve only ever heard him say “I don’t like walnuts”. Now, at least in this recipe, I love cauliflower too! Maybe that’s because you can hardly tell it’s there? Anyway, these are great and I would definitely plan to use them on any kids I happen to have who won’t eat vegies willingly…

Ingredients:

2 cups grated cauliflower

1/4 cup egg whites

1 cup cottage cheese (mine was 97% fat free)

1 tsp oregano

2 tsp parsley

1 tsp garlic (minced or fresh, because I love garlic!)

black pepper

salt

generous dash of Tabasco hot sauce (because I like it hot!)

some ham to top – I used 97% fat free ham slices, unlike the original recipe which calls for turkey pepperoni as we don’t have that here and I didn’t want to use full fat pepperoni.

Methods:

1. Preheat oven to 220C. Pan fry the grated cauliflower until it starts to go see through in a hot pan- mine also started to brown a bit in the hotter spots, but should only take 5-10 minutes. Set it aside to let it cool.

2. In a food processor, blend together the remaining ingredients EXCEPT the ham. Once blended, add in the cauliflower and combine.

3. Line a muffin tin with cupcake papers (this will stop the mixture from sticking and making a mess of your trays, check out these photos to see just how bad they can get!). Spoon the mixture evenly between the muffins. I managed to make only 10 muffins worth, but the original post got 36 – not sure what I did different! Then pop a bit of ham on top, I just tore my ham into strips and pushed them down on top.

4. Pop in the oven and bake for around 30 minutes, but keep your eye on it. I then took them out, let them cool a bit and removed them from the cupcake papers. They were very soft, but I turned them upside down on a cooling rack and popped them back into the oven to cook for about 10-15 minutes longer, firming up the underside.

There you have it! Simple and delicious! I can’t believe how tasty these are, I was so impressed I wanted to eat all 10 I baked (How did they get 36!?)! I think I was probably underestimating my cauliflower amount, as well as being a little light on the cottage cheese (I had to use only what I had left in the fridge, almost 1 cup!). Another version of the recipe is here, possibly the original? Who knows, but let’s keep sharing the good stuff!

Going off my calculations, it works out to be 8.3gms protein, 4.5gms carbs and 1.4gms of fat per 100gm serve – pretty great if you ask me for how absolutely delicious they are! Definitely making these again and actually following the recipe rather than guessing amounts!

Let me know what you think!

8 thoughts on “Cauliflower Pizza Bites

  1. That looks delicious! I’m definitely going to have to give that a try. Since you’re not a big fan of cauliflower and you’re trying to incorporate moer veggies, have you ever tried “caulitato’s”? They’re mashed potatos out of cauliflower. It’s SO good. If you’re interested, let me know and I can get you a recipe, or I’m sure you can just google it.

    • That sounds amazing – I don’t eat potatoes anymore but I often crave some good old spuds – so having a pretend version that isn’t solely spuds would be brilliant (it worked with the pumpkin chocolate mousse I made!). I feel so boring with my vegies, I usually have your generic steamed carrots, peas, corn, some capsicum, some celery – but the other problem is that I live alone at the moment and hate wasting food! I tend to stick to frozen vegies that I know won’t expire before I get through them, but would love to have some delicious and nutritious vegie recipes that I can add in to my collection! Do you have a version you like – I googled and found this – 4 boiled spuds, 2 and 1/2 cups boiled cauliflower, MASH – super simple but do you have any secret twists like spices and such? I guess you can’t really go wrong with mash ;)

      Definitely try them, I had 3 of them today and wanted more! This recipe is here to stay! Hopefully next time I follow the recipe a bit better and get the same amount as the original post got, but they are still delicious regardless.

      • I do have a really good recipe at home…where I’m not. Lol. When I get back in town on Monday, I’ll recomment and give you the recipe. It’s delicious. It adds ricotta cheese and parmesan cheese to give it a little more flavor ’cause just plain cauliflower isn’t too good.

    • They really are delicious, I was so impressed with the results that I am definitely having these again AND I’m trying more things with cauliflower! I hope they turn out well, if they do, you’ll see them posted on here for sure ;)

Leave a Reply

