Everybody friendly chocolate chip & peanut butter cookie dough bites!

This recipe I stumbled upon ages ago at this website, all credit goes to her wonderful baking delights, of which there are many on her site!

For the upcoming wedding, Rex and I are making a lot of the food ourselves. This means a lot of baking is ahead of us, but also, we need to accommodate vegans, diabetics, gluten intolerant, lactose intolerant people, and one poor person who is dairy free/gluten free and diabetic! I am searching around trying to find recipes that will mean everyone can have food at the wedding, but that it’s delicious foods that everyone could enjoy. I hate when you go and have a gluten free meal somewhere and it just tastes wrong because the person making it doesn’t really care about it. I do. As such, I will do my best to find things that everyone can eat, no matter what their dietary restrictions!

And voila! Another recipe to add to the list!

Ingredients:

240gms canned chickpeas, drained, rinsed and dried with paper towel or such

165gms natural peanut butter – and yes, I made peanut butter from scratch for this one as the original recipe suggests

80gms honey – thankfully I have wonderful “homemade” honey too from my bees!

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp baking powder

90gms chocolate chips – here is where I differed from the recipe a bit – the first batch I made with dairy free 70% cocoa dark chocolate – decadent but not more-ish, and then the second batch I made with Sweet Williams dairy free “milk” chocolate, these were harder not to devour the whole batch out of the oven, deliciously and devilishly sweet!

Method:

Preheat oven to 175C

Pop everything except the chocolate into a food processor and blend until smooth – you want to make sure the chickpeas are all blended up!

I smashed up the chocolate with the bottom of a bowl so that I would have nice big chunks of chocolate in each cookie – so smash it up and stir it in – otherwise you can put the chocolate in the processor and pulse it a couple of times.

Now, I messed this up the first time, but you do need really wet hands to be able to roll the dough into balls! So, wet hands, grab some, roll into a ball the size you’d like a cookie as they don’t really rise at all when baked, pop on some baking paper on a tray or how you normally bake your cookies.

The original recipe said to bake for 10mins, I have had anywhere between 10 and 15mins, I guess it depends on your oven, and if you’re baking anything else at the same time, which I was!

Take them out and try not to eat every single last one!  They don’t turn out like cookies, crunchy or anything, they really are like warm cookie dough.

Super simple, delicious, and suitable for everyone! I have also trialled using Stevia as the sweetener instead of honey to some success, but I am still working on something that is completely diabetically friendly, but this is pretty close, for a cookie :P

Any “everybody friendly” recipes you have that you’d like to share? I’d love to hear them and try them out for myself!

5 thoughts on “Everybody friendly chocolate chip & peanut butter cookie dough bites!

      • Here you go -
        Chocolate Fondant

        1. Caster sugar 125g
        2. Butter, softened 250g
        3. Egg 5
        4. Egg yolk 5
        5. Plain Flour 2 tbsp
        6. Chocolate, melted 250g
        7. Icing sugar

        Directions:
        1. Cream sugar and butter
        2. Add eggs and yolks into creamed mixture
        3. Add flour
        4. Add the melted chocolate
        5. Portion the batter into ramekins
        6. Bake at 180 degrees celsius until cake rises (about 7-8 mins)
        7. Serve immediately with ice cream

  1. You had me at peanut butter & chocolate!!! That looks divine!!! I’ll have to try this recipe some time. I’ll look through my recipe stash & see if I can find any recipes for you.

    • They really are dangerous, especially straight out of the oven, oh wow are they a treat, and I like to think a healthy one comparing them to a normal cookie! Let me know if you find anything, I love trying out new things, especially with this wedding coming up! I did put a roll of this unbaked in the freezer to see how it goes being baked from thawing, just to see if in the future I can cut down prep time – fingers crossed it works fine, I have time to save!

Leave a Reply

