Becoming a Roxcycl ambassador

Keeping it secret that I’d been chosen as an ambassador for Roxcycl for about a month was truly difficult! When I got the call, I was so incredibly excited. I felt I was about to burst and wanted to tell everyone! I felt, and still feel, incredibly lucky to be one of the faces for this program and can not wait for the new year and all the rides and gatherings ahead.

Getting together at York Lane for the announcement, I got to meet the organisers of the fantastic program, some amazing mentors that are competitive cyclists, nutritionists, brand managers, and of course the other two ambassadors. It has been an incredibly inspiring experience so far and already I feel like I am an imposter amongst these inspirational women and men. Listening to Rochelle from Wiggle Honda, Rebecca from The Athlete’s Kitchen, and Chloe Hosking of Hitec Products, answer questions regarding their inspirations, what keeps them going and their advice for achieving goals, I feel I have learnt so much.

I’ve learnt that focusing on food is more important than focusing on weight, a pressure that many women feel regardless of sport, a social expectation to be a certain size isn’t what your body needs when you want to be an athlete competing at your best – a starving body doesn’t run so fast.

I’ve learnt that it is possible at any age to get into competitive cycling and win with a little dedication and good time management.

Eliza out on the trails in her Velocio Apparel gear.

I’ve learnt that its possible to have family and a successful cycling career.

I’ve learnt that women come from many different backgrounds and different experiences regarding formal training. Some start young and are spotted with talent for particular sports. Others begin because of family influences. Others still start out in something different but find that cycling is their jam.

I’ve learnt that to succeed, you need to put yourself high on the list, that your goals are important. You need to give yourself the time to put yourself first, to focus on your goals and things become much more achievable.

I’ve learnt that its easy to get pulled away on a tangent, but having a solid goal that has been said aloud, that you are now accountable towards, helps to bring that focus back to your goal. It helps keep you from getting caught up in joining friends on every possible type of race and ride you are sure would be awesome to join. You have a goal, and reminders of that goal will help to bring focus to that training and the end result.

Lastly, I’ve learnt that there is a multitude of incredible women out there, all with amazing back stories and who are inspirational role models to women and men everywhere. Brief chats with the fellow ambassadors, as well as those who came along to support us and Roxcycl, barely scratched the surface of their stories. Over the coming year I look forward to learning more about the amazing people I am now in contact with, as well as sharing my story with you.

Leave a Reply

